United States Congressional Serial Set
Description: The United States Congressional Serial Set began publication in 1817. The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports (or congressional documents and reports). If you have a reference to these reports or documents, you can use the indexes listed below to find its location in the Serial Set. The American State Papers predates the Serial Set and includes legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789 to 1838. Between Hillman Library and the Law Library we have a complete set of the Serial Set in various formats and in many cases duplicate copies.You will see the documents and reports listed as follows, along with the number of Congress:
House and Senate Documents (H. Doc. and S. Doc.)Serial Set citations or numbers look like this:
House and Senate Reports (H. Rpt. and S. Rpt.)
Example - 25th Congress, 2nd Session H.Doc. 343 would be listed as - H.Doc. 25-343
Serial Set Vol. No. 330. No. 10Serial Set locations and indexes...
Congressional
Serial Set Digital Edition 1817 - (Pitt only)
This is updated on a regular basis. Keep checking for new dates and additions.
A Century of Law Making 1774 - 1875 (Free access)
Available through the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, A Century of Law Making, includes featured volumes
of Serial Set volumes.
A complete set of the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record from that time period and its precursors the Congressional Globe and Annals of Congress and other full-text congressional documents and public laws (Statutes at Large) are on this site too.
Includes index and full text documents.
LexisNexis Congressional 1970 - present (Pitt only)
Includes indexing of current congressional documents and reports (those that make up the Serial Set) from 1970 to the present and full-text from 1995 to present.
1970 - present Serial Set documents (congressional documents and reports) can be searched through the Publications or CIS Index sections.
The Historical Indexes section has the Serial Set index from 1789 - 1969. Includes index and full text documents.
GPO Access 1995 (104th Congress) - present (Free access)
Includes index and full text documents.
.................................................................................................
The above resources contain either early copies (1789 through mid-1800's) or recent copies (1995 to present) of the Serial Set. For those years in between, you need to use either microfiche, microprint, or paper. Listed below is what the library owns, by year, and the location of each grouping.
- 1st through 54th Congress (1789 - 1896)
Microfiche, Barco Law Library, U.S. Serial Set.
- 15th through 56th Congress (1817 - 1900)
Microprint, Government Publications Collection, ground floor Hillman Library, Y 1.1/2:
- 55th through 85th Congress (1898 - 1958)
Microfiche, Microforms Department, ground floor Hillman Library, shelved under U.S. Government Documents--Congress --U.S. Serial Set.
- 86th through 91st Congress (1959 - 1969) Microfiche, Barco Law Library, U.S. Serial Set.
- 90th Congress - present (1967 - ) Government Publications Collection, ground floor Hillman Library, Y 1.1/2: through
Y 1.1/8:
- 92nd Congress - present (1970 - ) Microfiche, Barco Law Library, CIS
...................................................................................................
Storage, Serial Set volumes from 1900 through 1966 are in storage. The library has volumes from the 1800's in storage, but coverage is not complete. Ask at the Hillman Library Reference Desk for assistance in retreiving these.
..................................................................................................
For a more detailed description of the Serial Set see:
Law Librarians' Society of DC (LLSDC) overview and the
National Archives (NARA).
Page created
by Wendy Mann.
This is updated on a regular basis. Keep checking for new dates and additions.
Includes index and
full text documents.
A Century of Law Making 1774 - 1875 (Free access)
Available through the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, A Century of Law Making, includes featured volumes
of Serial Set volumes.
A complete set of the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record from that time period and its precursors the Congressional Globe and Annals of Congress and other full-text congressional documents and public laws (Statutes at Large) are on this site too.
Includes index and full text documents.
LexisNexis Congressional 1970 - present (Pitt only)
Includes indexing of current congressional documents and reports (those that make up the Serial Set) from 1970 to the present and full-text from 1995 to present.
1970 - present Serial Set documents (congressional documents and reports) can be searched through the Publications or CIS Index sections.
The Historical Indexes section has the Serial Set index from 1789 - 1969. Includes index and full text documents.
GPO Access 1995 (104th Congress) - present (Free access)
Includes index and full text documents.
.................................................................................................
The above resources contain either early copies (1789 through mid-1800's) or recent copies (1995 to present) of the Serial Set. For those years in between, you need to use either microfiche, microprint, or paper. Listed below is what the library owns, by year, and the location of each grouping.
- 1st through 54th Congress (1789 - 1896)
Microfiche, Barco Law Library, U.S. Serial Set.
- 15th through 56th Congress (1817 - 1900)
Microprint, Government Publications Collection, ground floor Hillman Library, Y 1.1/2:
- 55th through 85th Congress (1898 - 1958)
Microfiche, Microforms Department, ground floor Hillman Library, shelved under U.S. Government Documents--Congress --U.S. Serial Set.
- 86th through 91st Congress (1959 - 1969) Microfiche, Barco Law Library, U.S. Serial Set.
- 90th Congress - present (1967 - ) Government Publications Collection, ground floor Hillman Library, Y 1.1/2: through
Y 1.1/8:
- 92nd Congress - present (1970 - ) Microfiche, Barco Law Library, CIS
...................................................................................................
Storage, Serial Set volumes from 1900 through 1966 are in storage. The library has volumes from the 1800's in storage, but coverage is not complete. Ask at the Hillman Library Reference Desk for assistance in retreiving these.
..................................................................................................
For a more detailed description of the Serial Set see:
Law Librarians' Society of DC (LLSDC) overview and the
National Archives (NARA).



