www.pitt.edu
ULS HomeZoom!PittCatAsk Us

Pittsburgh Company Research



These directories cover the Pittsburgh area and/or the state of Pennsylvania. In many cases they will be more inclusive than the resources listed in the Company Profiles section, and thus are particularly useful in finding information on small local companies. If you are researching a local public company, refer to the Financial Information page for more resources.

Research Databases

Search the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette through the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (Public library card required)

Access the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette(NewsBank) from this page:

http://www.carnegielibrary.org/research/pittsburgh/databases.html

To register for a library card, visit:

http://www.carnegielibrary.org/usingthelibrary/getcard.html

Academic Lexis-Nexis*

Limited text of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, The Pittsburgh Tribune Review, and other Pennsylvania periodicals

Free Online resources

Pittsburgh Business Times

http://pittsburgh.bizjournals.com/pittsburgh/

Pittsburgh Today

(compares Pittsburgh business environment to other cities and regions)

http://www.pittsburghtoday.org

Pittsburgh Economic Quarterly

http://www.ucsur.pitt.edu/peq.htm

Pittsburgh Technology Council State of the Industry Report

http://www.pghtech.org/news-and-publications/state-of-industry-report.aspx

Regional Economic Reports from PNC

https://www.pnc.com/webapp/unsec/ProductsAndService.do?siteArea=/PNC/Home/About+PNC/Media+Room/Economic+Reports

Thomas Net

http://www.thomasnet.com

An industrial search engine that provides one source for finding the exact product, service, or supplier. Search by company, product, service, trade or brand name. To search for Pennsylvania manufacturers, select PA from the list of states, then narrow your results by zip code.

Books from the Reference Collection

Pittsburgh Business Times Book of Lists

BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference  (HC107.P42 P4932)

HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference  (f HC107.P42 P4932) (latest edition at reference desk.)

D&B’s Regional Business Directory

Provides basic facts on the largest 20,000 company locations by number of employees in the Pittsburgh area (13 counties of southwestern Pennsylvania and 2 counties in the Maryland panhandle). Arranged geographically with SIC Code and alphabetic indexes. A Business Rankings section ranks the top 1,000.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P7P4933)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P7P4933)

Greater Allegheny Industrial Buying Guide (Regional industrial buying guide, Greater Allegheny)

Includes industrial manufacturers and suppliers in the Greater Allegheny Region which covers western Pennsylvania, West Virginia, northern Maryland, and a small portion of northeast Ohio. Information on companies is very limited, but this is an excellent source for finding manufacturers or suppliers of specific products or industrial services.

BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference  (HF3161.P4 G73)

HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HF3161.P4 G73)

GSPIA/Economics Lib - Reference (HF3161.P4 G73)

Harris Pennsylvania Industrial Directory

Provides basic facts on over 20,000 manufacturing and industrial companies and facilities in Pennsylvania. There is no size limitation, so this source is comprehensive for industrial companies. Arranged geographically with alphabetic, SIC Code, and product/service indexes.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P4A5)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P4A5)
GSPIA/Economics Lib - Reference (HC107 P4A5)

Pittsburgh Business Directory

Provides over 1300 public, private, nonprofit, subsidiary, and other company profiles. The focus is on businesses with over 35 employees in the Pittsburgh metropolitan area, encompassing Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Washington, and Westmoreland Counties. Includes geographic and SIC Code indexes.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HF5068.P56 L48)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk (HF5068.P56 L48)

SMC Classified Directory of Products and Services  

Includes name, address, phone, contact person, and type of business for the 5000 members of SMC (formerly Smaller Manufacturers Council), based in Pittsburgh.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HD2346 U52P46)

PA Manufacturers Register

BUSINESS LIBRARY – Reference (HD9727.P4 P429)


Questions? Ask A Librarian

(Back to Business Research Guide Homepage)

(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)

Zoom! | PittCat | Ask Us | Contact Us | Top of Page